Veteran’s Day: A day to remember and say thanks..

Thank you to all the men and women, past, present and future, for serving this great country

Veteran’s Day has officially passed us by, so this post could be outdated to some. I spent the day thinking about a lot of things. Everything I did on the day I asked myself if I could do it without the sacrifice made by so many people. I have always believed that those who are fighting chose to do so. I think it has to have a certain level of interest to be successful. I was never interested. But I am certainly thankful that so many were. These people leave their families for a year or more at a time. Some return for a short period and are back at it.

While so many are away from family as we approach the holiday season, I was at a volleyball tournament today. I volunteered at the Nebraska State Volleyball Tournament and was in charge of gathering and reporting scores. I facebooked. I tweeted. I blogged. I talked to people. I enjoyed sports. These are all things made possible because so many people have sacrificed things in their life.

I watched teams win today and celebrate with joy. I watched teams lose and see their season/career come to an end. Tears were shed. I have been there. My high school career ended with an injury. At the time I thought life was over. Playing sports was all I ever wanted to do. Now, as I look back, I realize tears shouldn’t be shed. Defeat is never fun, but at the end of the day it is just a game and nothing more.

I appreciate everything that is done by the military. I don’t know what they go through and I will never pretend that I do. I watch the news and I see bad things. And on occasion I see the good. Unfortunately we see more of the bad than the good. But we have to believe that the bad happened because they were trying to reach the good.

I know it is easier said than done, but they next time you lose at something. Whether it is a state championship game, a golf game with the guys, a thousand dollar bet, the person you thought was the love of your life or something else you think is important, think about life and understand that it isn’t that bad. There are people in this world going through much worse. Instead of sad tears, shed tears of joy and thankfulness because other people allowed you the right to have what you lost – even if just for awhile.

It is right to give thanks to a veteran on this special day, but I don’t think we give enough thanks. we should all thank those in the military and we should do it every time we see them no matter what the day it.

Here’s to all of you folks in the military, past and present. Thank you for doing what you do. Thank you for doing what I am scared to do. Thank you for allowing me to chase my dreams.

As a tribute I leave you with this video that is sure to touch anyone……..

THANK YOU!!!

Leave a Reply

