P90X – Week 3

I decided it was time to get serious. Until this week I hadn’t been watching what I eat, though still working hard during the workouts. This week I named my “Get After It” week or “Fat Burner Week”. I decided in addition to the regular workouts that I have been doing I would add the cardio workout every morning. The alarm clock was ringing at 6 a.m. every day this week, except for Saturday.

I have noticed some changes over the last three weeks. I have finally figured out the Wacky Jacks and am able to do those. The first few times I can only imagine how silly I looked trying to figure it out, but I’ve got it now. I mentioned in my week one blog that I struggled through the ab workout because it was a lot of strain on my lower back. It is getting a lot better and for the first time this week my lower back was flat against the ground. It feels good to be able to do more and more of the workouts.

As far as eating, I have really been paying attention to caloric intake and portion size. It has made a difference. I am down 10 pounds after three weeks. I think that is pretty good. I’m not serious about a big weight loss program, but at that rate it would be 40 pounds by the end of the program. If that stayed true I will be broke from buying new clothes.

Workout Program
The program I am using is a lean workout that follows the same routine as the first two weeks. Here is the schedule:

  • Day 1 – Core Synergistics
  • Day 2 – Cardio X
  • Day 3 – Shoulders and Arms, Ab Ripper X
  • Day 4 – Yoga X
  • Day 5 – Legs and Back, Ab Ripper X
  • Day 6 – Kenpo X
  • Day 7 – Rest or Stretch X

Week 3 Review
When I decided to do the extra workout I wasn’t ready to be up at 6 a.m. Now, I know that isn’t early for a lot of you, but for me it is. I haven’t been up that early in awhile. The alarm clock rang and I was up. I did the cardio workout and got the blood flowing for the day. I have found that doing a workout in the morning before work has just made each day better. I feel more energized during the day.

Wednesday was really tough to get out of bed to workout, but I was able to drag myself out and get the workout in. Once I begin the workout it is fun and goes quickly. However, the whole getting out of bed thing isn’t always so easy.

I still think Yoga is a fun workout. It is very difficult at times but I suppose that is the point. One thing is for sure, if you want the legs to burn then that is the workout for you. The most enjoyable part is definitely the last five minutes. It is so relaxing.

After week three I can tell I am getting more and more into it. I finally have all the workouts figured out and can get after it better. There are still some things I can’t do, like Crane for example. If you are doing the P90X Yoga workout then you know what I’m talking about. However, I am getting closer and closer to doing it. The workouts that I struggle with or can’t do just make me want to work harder so I can do it. I still struggle a bit with pull-ups, but I give it a valid effort each time.

Now that I have some of the workouts figured out the schedule changes. Week 4 is a recovery week and then it is on to phase two for weeks 5-7.

Well, that’s it for this week’s update. Here are the links to the other blogs if you are interested.

Week 1
Week 2

Until next week….

Good Luck! You CAN do it!
As always you can find me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

