Another sad shooting, how can we fix it?

image

As I sit here on a Sunday morning and think about what I am going to do today my heart breaks for the people involved in the Orlando shooting and all of their families. Every time we have an incident like this I try to wrap my brain around how this could have possibly happened. And, more importantly, why the hell does it keep happening?

You should be angry. We all should be. Because somewhere along the way we screwed up. As a society. This stuff isn’t to be blamed on a parent or two. It’s not the fault of a video game. It’s deeper than that.

I realize shootings and murders have happened since before my time, but it seems like it is more frequent. Is it because I am old enough to pay attention more or I understand it more? Or is it really happening more and more?

Did we forget how to love? Did we fail to teach how to love? What happened? We live in a world where we are more concerned about sharing our story or trying to be better than someone else that we have forgotten to appreciate what we have and commend others on what they have. It’s not just one person. It’s all of us. We have all fallen into the trap.

We are far too concerned about who believes in God and who doesn’t or how someone lives their life or if someone is transgender, homosexual or something else that is different than us.

Imagine a world where we put as much energy into our own lives or bettering ourselves as we do worrying about the person down the street who believes differently than us or, heaven forbid, is different from us.

I wish I had the answers to how we can fix our world. I know it’s not the best to point out a problem without offering a solution, but we have a problem. It’s a big problem. I’m not going to live in fear. I don’t want that to hold me back from living, but I damn sure know in today’s crazy world every time I wake up it could be the last time.

There will always be evil in the world. We aren’t going to stop it. But we can better ourselves and those who will come after us. I hope that if we take those steps the world will one day be a better place.

We need to find our way!

Leave a Reply

